Pupil Services

Health Services

The District's health services team actively collaborates with families, students, staff and community resources in order to promote the health and well being of every child.  We will intervene with actual and potential health problems through direct and indirect care, so that we may help reduce the spread of communicable disease, increase attendance and place the focus on life-long learning and health.

The role of the licensed school nurse includes numerous responsibilities. The District's nurses:

  • Maintain, evaluate, and interpret health information to accommodate the needs of the students
  • Participate as health specialists on the IEP team
  • Develop and implement Individual Health Plans
  • Formulate, recommend, implement, and supervise school health policy and protocols, including medications
  • Plan and provide for emergency intervention for illness and injury for students and staff
  • Participate in the control of communicable diseases by enforcing state  immunization laws and providing surveillance of contagious disease
  • Provide health education
  • Serve as the liaison between the home and school on student health-related issues.

Quick Links

School Nurses

Boulevard
Janet Meinhard
meinhard_j@shaker.org
216-295-4023

Fernway
Louise Haffke
haffke_l@shaker.org
216-295-4042

Lomond
Vanessa Exum
216-295-4060

Mercer
Karen Tritt
tritt_k@shaker.org
216-295-4073

Onaway
Paula Klausner
klausner_p@shaker.org
216-295-4083

Woodbury
Stephanie Smith
smith_s@shaker.org
216-295-4155

Middle School
Iris Micochero
micochero_i@shaker.org
216-295-4112

High School
Paula Damm
damm_p@shaker.org
216-295-4237
© 2020. Shaker Heights Schools. All Rights Reserved.
If any of the material on this page is not accessible to you or you have questions, please send us an email or call us via our contact page and we will provide alternatives.