Print    Close This Window
139 Shaker Students Named 2021 AP Scholars

September 2, 2021 - One hundred thirty-nine Shaker Heights High School students have been named AP Scholars by The College Board in recognition of their outstanding performance on three or more Advanced Placement (AP) examinations administered through May 2021. This represents 32 percent of the Shaker students who took AP exams; worldwide, just over 20 percent of the 2.6 million students who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school and to receive college credit, advanced standing, or both for successful performance on AP exams. The exams are graded on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest, and most U.S. colleges will grant credit or upper-level placement for a grade of 3 or higher. In 2021, more than 35 AP exams were offered by The College Board in a wide variety of subject areas.

Shaker Heights High School offers 25 Advanced Placement courses in 19 subject areas: music theory; English; world languages, including French, Spanish, German, and Latin; math, including calculus and statistics; science, including computer science, chemistry, biology, environmental science, and physics; and social studies, including American government, economics, European history, modern world history, psychology, and U.S. history. In any given year, approximately one-third of Shaker sophomores, juniors, and seniors are enrolled in at least one AP course. In May 2021, 440 Shaker students took 920 AP examinations, with 83 percent earning a score of 3 or higher. By the time they graduate, more than 40% of Shaker students have taken at least one AP course.

The students honored graduated in June 2021 unless otherwise noted.

Fifty-six students were named AP Scholars by completing three or more AP exams with grades of 3 or higher. They are Nichele Abeyesundere (’22), Sophia Arnoldi (’22), Agatha Augustine (’22), Thomas Baeza, Ayaan Baig (’22), Eliza Bennett, Emily Boron (’23), Grace Bourdrez (’22), Arlo Braman, Francesca Butsch (’22), David Carpenter, Eli Celeste-Cohen, Emerson Coffman, Mia Compton-Engle (’22), Gabriel Conn, Sara Dina, Logan Duffett (’22), Jeremy Galin, Theodore Gerber (’22), Maxwell Good, Luke Graban, Katherine Hahnenberg, Bram Hoffman, Jonathan Jacques (’23), James Kennedy, Sanjana Khot (’22), Colin Lamb, Eric LaMonica, Madeleine Lenahan (’22), Evelyn Lewicki (’22), Russell Markey, Dominic Mayhew (’22), Samuel Morris, Julia Moskowitz (’22), Nicolo Moulthrop (’23), Paige Pulver (’22), Louis Rahilly (’22), Connor Richard, Sophia Rose (’23), Evan Rowland-Seymour, Sean Sammon, Julia Schmitt-Palumbo, Oliva Schumacher (’22), Samantha Sekeres (’22), Ajay Sharma (’22), Lauren Sheperd, Dima Smith (’22), Erica Smith, Hazel Smith (’23), James Stewart (’22), Mitchell Stiefel, Julia Strasburg (’22), Julia Van Orman (’22), David Verhage, Eleanor von der Heydt (’23) and Jackson Wrubel (’22).

Thirty-three students qualified as AP Scholars with Honor by earning an average of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Avery Blaszak, John Carter, Oscar Chapnick (’22), Katherine Christian (’22), Anna Dillenbeck, Gabrielle Fortin, Grace Fraser (’22), Katharine Fraser (’22), Spencer Goldberg, Samuel Grube (’22), Andrea Harrison, Paul Huang, Samuel Klein, Aidan Koenigsberger, Max Kornblut, Anna Krouse, Olivia Landever (’22), Adriane Lawes, Grant LeMay (’22), Katherine Meinhard (’22), Joseph Moritz (’22), Amelia Proweller (’22), Joshua Reape, Kayla Roth, Ivan Sadowky (’22), Oliver Sherwin (’22), Thomas Smyers, Nicholas Voyzey, William Welsh III (’22), Daniel Wise, Eva Xiao (’22), John Yasinsky (’22) and Bridget Yusko.

Fifty students qualified as AP Scholars with Distinction by earning an average of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on at least five exams. They are Asya Akkus, Kjell Aspelin (’22), Eliza Auten, Owen Bang (’22), Aaliyah Bell, Ian Bhatia, Mathew Boardman, Michael Bond, Caroline Brancato, Maxwell Braun, Jonathan Brinkley (’22), Maximilian Carroll, Jasmine Collier, Cooper Cook, William Corbin (’22), Kathryn Cronin, Maximilian Ehlers, Jacob Feinleib (’22), Annika Ferguson, George Furey (’22), Adam Hollander (’22), Elizabeth Huang (’23), Annika Jankowsky, Peter Khayat, Matthew Kirchner, Christopher Koch, Danielle Krantz, Rohini Kumar, Caroline Lamb (’22), Owen Lockwood, Avery Maytin (’22), Colin McCabe, Tyler Nordstrom (’22), Rylan Polster, Zoe Rosenfelt, Ashley Sah, Luca Sakiewicz (’22), Benjamin Schattinger (’22), Somiya Schirokauer (’22), Samuel Schmidt, Zachary Segar, Ryan Shane (’22), Sriram Srinivas, Luke Stefanski (’22), David Szoke, Daniel Tcheurekdjian (’22), Isaac Van Orman, Thomas Vodrey, Gage Weingart (’22) and Leticia Wuthrich.

In addition to being designated an AP Scholar with Distinction, Senior Leticia Wuthrich received an AP International Diploma. This designation is earned by fulfilling a variety of eligibility requirements certifying outstanding academic excellence with a global perspective.