Shaker Heights Schools News Article

129 Shaker Students Named 2022 AP Scholars

October 10, 2022 - One hundred twenty-nine Shaker Heights High School students have been named AP Scholars by The College Board in recognition of their outstanding performance on three or more Advanced Placement (AP) examinations administered through May 2022. This represents x percent of the Shaker students who took AP exams; worldwide, just over 20 percent of the 2.6 million students who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.


The College Board’s Advanced Placement program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school and to receive college credit, advanced standing or both for successful performance on AP exams. The exams are graded on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest, and most U.S. colleges will grant credit or upper-level placement for a grade of 3 or higher. In 2022, more than 35 AP exams were offered by The College Board in a wide variety of subject areas.


Shaker Heights High School offers 25 Advanced Placement courses in 19 subject areas: music theory; English; world languages, including French, Spanish, German, and Latin; math, including calculus and statistics; science, including computer science, chemistry, biology, environmental science, and physics; and social studies, including American government, economics, European history, modern world history, psychology, and U.S. history. In any given year, approximately one-third of Shaker sophomores, juniors, and seniors are enrolled in at least one AP course. In May 2022, 491 Shaker students took 891 AP examinations, with 64 percent earning a score of 3 or higher. 


The students honored graduated in June 2022 unless otherwise noted.

Fifty-nine students were named AP Scholars by completing three or more AP exams with grades of 3 or higher. They are Rachel Barnard, Patrick Barrett, Anna Beltran (‘24), Grace Bourdrez, Vivian Bowling, Zara Braun (‘23), Shoshanah Calland (‘23), Anna Carpenter, Katherine Christian, Aaron DeLong (‘23), Logan Duffet, Miriam Duhamel (‘23), Nikolai Ewing (‘23), Theodore Gerber, Ari Green, Noam Greenberg (‘23), Tomas Halldorsson (‘23), Aidan Hart, Isabel Hart (‘23), Samir Khatri (‘23), Emma Khayat, Sanjana Khot, Grant Lemay, Maddie Lenahan, Ezra Liston Dykema, Jenna Loveman (‘23), Maxwell McDonald, George Mcguinness (‘23), Kyra Miklos (‘23), Maya Miller, Sanaa Miller, Julia Moskowitz, Emma Murray, Eva Nieman (‘23), Elisabeth O’Brien (‘23), Connor Peppard (‘24), Eric Pieper (‘23), Andre Poggio (‘23), Marcel Prochoroff, Amelia Proweller, Talia Proweller, Paige Pulver, Louis Rahilly, Angel Rosales (‘23), Benjamin Schiavone (‘23), Sebastian Schomerus, Olivia Schumacher, Samantha Sekeres, Colt Simonelli, Jed Skilken (‘23), Katelyn Snyder, James Stewart, Maclin Stupay, Ralph Federick Tan, Julia Van Orman, Jackson Wrubel, Kevin Xiao (‘24) and John Yasinsky.


Twenty-three students qualified as AP Scholars with Honor by earning an average of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Jack Adams, Flynn Bloch (‘23), Francesca Butsch, Sophia Ehlers, Andrew English (‘23), Andrew Farkas (‘23), George Furey, Lillie Herbst, Matthew Huang (‘24), Maximilian Jack, Olivia Landever, Charles Lozier (‘23), Alexander Markland, Nicolo Moulthrop (‘23), Keegan Polatz, Lia Polster (‘23), Aziza Reddy, James Rhodes (‘23), Oliver Sherwin, Luke Stefanski, Daniel Tcheurekdjian, Benjamin Witt and Jacob Zeng (‘23).


Forty-seven students qualified as AP Scholars with Distinction by earning an average of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on at least five exams. They are Sophia Arnoldi, Kjell Aspelin, Javiera Baeza (‘23), Ayaan Baig, Owen Bang, Emily Boron (‘23), Jonathan Brinkley, Joshua Brown (‘23), Kevin Burchmore (‘23), Ethan Byrnes (‘23), Oscar Chapnick, Lily Collier (‘23), William Corbin, Emily Daley (‘23), Adrik Dutta (‘23), Jacob Feinleib, Jackson Fowler (‘23), Brian Fox (‘23), Samuel Friguglietti (‘23), Adam Hollander, Elizabeth Huang (‘23), Benjamin Jamal (‘23), Ezaiyah Jolly (‘23), Caroline Lamb, Evelyn Lewicki, Nick Luther (‘23), Helen Malone, Dominic Mayhew, Avery Maytin, Katherine Meinhard, Joseph Moritz, Tyler Nordstrom, Angelo Parrino (‘23), Martina Richter, Sophia Rose, Luca Sakiewicz, Benjamin Schattinger, Somiya Schirokauer, Ryan Shane, Ajay Sharma, Dima Smith, Julia Strasburg, Owen Tolbert (‘23), Eleanor von der Heydt (‘23), Gage Weingart, William Welsh and Eva Xiao.

Print This Article