60 Shaker Heights Schools Teachers and Staff Honored at Annual Recognition Ceremony

May 22, 2019—This afternoon, the Board of Education, the Shaker Heights Teachers’ Association and the Shaker Heights PTO recognized 60 teachers and staff members at the Annual Service Award Recognition and Reception for their years of service at Shaker Heights Schools. The ceremony is a celebration of those teachers and staff who are newly tenured, have achieved 15 or 25 years of service or are retiring. 

“We are a great District because of all of you who work in the spirit of teamwork to deliver an outstanding experience for our students,” said Interim Superintendent Dr. Stephen M. Wilkins. “Each day, you impact the lives of our students. You change the world by helping us graduate great students.”

In reflecting on this past year, SHTA President and High School Teacher Dr. John Morris remains positive. “This is a moment of profound optimism to see so many people being celebrated for their milestones, so there is a great deal of hope right now,” he said. Dr. Morris also presented an Outstanding Service Award posthumously to beloved teacher Ms. Aisha Fraser for her commitment to Woodbury and another Outstanding Service Award to Jackie Conway Scanlon, for her tireless efforts to create and manage a GoFundMe page to benefit Ms. Fraser’s daughters after her death.

“This is a terrific opportunity to celebrate all those people who make Shaker Heights Schools strong,” said Interim High School Principal and Incoming Superintendent Dr. David Glasner. “We are truly grateful for their dedication to the District and to our students.”

The following teachers were honored for their service:

25 Years of Service

  • Susan Brown, High School
  • Darlene Garrison, Woodbury
  • Angela Goodrum, Woodbury
  • Christopher Hayward, Fernway
  • Todd Keitlen, Woodbury
  • Brenda Kline, Boulevard
  • Patricia Lease, Woodbury
  • Gwendolyn Lewis, Woodbury
  • Vikki Long, High School
  • Michael McDonough, Woodbury
  • Athea McDowell, Transportation
  • Larry Miller, Woodbury
  • Heather Pincoe, Woodbury
  • Kimberly Ponce de Leon, High School
  • Deedra Strang, Mercer
  • Debra Turoff, Woodbury

15 Years of Service

  • Erick Anderson, Mercer
  • Claude Green, High School
  • Gretchen Hess, Lomond
  • Yvonne Horstman, High School
  • Miata Hunter, Middle School
  • Anna Hruby, Middle School
  • Paula Klausner, Onaway
  • Terrell McKenney, District
  • Michael Olencki, Boulevard
  • Holly Palda, District
  • Mark Seymore, High School
  • Stephen Smith, Lomond
  • David Watson, Middle School
  • Linda Watson, Middle School
  • Derek White, Mercer
  • Helen Willis, High School

Newly Tenured

  • Jaclyn Abrams, Middle School
  • Alison Bradford, Boulevard
  • Jessica Chumney, Woodbury
  • Daniel DeJohn, Woodbury
  • Jenifer Halapy, Woodbury
  • Meryl Haring, High School
  • Kara Horvat, Mercer
  • Sarah Kelley, Onaway
  • Katherine Klimek, Fernway
  • Anne Krzywicki, Onaway
  • Justin Lockhart, Middle School
  • Marie Marschall, Lomond
  • Mitchell Moisio, High School
  • Anjali Rao, Middle School
  • Robert Senor, Middle School
  • Stephanie Smith, Woodbury
  • Zheng Tang, Mercer
  • Kristina Walter, High School

2019 Retirees

  • Carol Boyd, High School
  • Mary Beth Eakin, Mercer
  • Renautta Griffin, Woodbury
  • Alice Kutil, High School
  • Samuel Meeks, District
  • Charles Orange, High School
  • Michelle Patrick, Transportation
  • Elizabeth Siegel, Mercer
  • Maureen Sylak, High School
  • Seretta Wilson, Transportation

Print This Article
© 2019. Shaker Heights Schools. All Rights Reserved.
If any of the material on this page is not accessible to you or you have questions, please send us an email or call us via our contact page and we will provide alternatives.
View text-based website