Superintendent Search

Click below to read more about the Board of Education's search for the District's next superintendent and stay up-to-date on the latest news.
Read More

Shaker Schools Employees Honored at Annual Service Tea

May 24, 2018—Congratulations to the Shaker Heights Schools employees who were honored today at the annual District Service Awards. The ceremony was presented by The Board of Education, The Shaker Heights Teachers’ Association (SHTA) and the PTO.

“The success of Shaker Schools lies in its people and your example is a model of service that inspires us all,” said Dr. Stephen M. Wilkins, who begins his position as Interim Superintendent of Schools in July. 

Awards were given to employees who have given the District 25 and 15 years of service, who are newly tenured and who are retiring this year. The SHTA also presented the Distinguished Service Award to Woodbury Fifth Grade Teacher Chante Thomas for her ongoing commitment and contributions to the SHTA.

“This is a great representation of the depth and breadth and commitment on the part of the staff to the District,” said SHTA president Dr. John Morris. “And it’s a great celebration on the part of the staff to see this kind of turnout for people who are beginning their careers and ending their careers in Shaker.”

These Shaker Schools employees received the following recognitions:

25 Years of Service
Sally Davros, Onaway
Robyn Feinstein, Mercer
Lindsay Florence, Mercer
Cathleen Grieshop, Boulevard
Carole Kovach, High School
Michael Schwenn, Middle School
Ouimet Smith, Administration

15 Years of Service
Robert Bognar, Woodbury
Selena Boyer, Fernway
Bryan Child, High School
Travis Cox, High School
Bradley Gillette, Onaway
Kim Davis, High School
Andrea Green, High School
Bruce Jennings, High School
Meredith Jones, Transportation
Paul Kelly, High School
Francine Lasley, Middle School
Jennifer Lever, Onaway
Dawn Rivers, Onaway
Piyali Roy, High School
Laurie Schlein, Mercer
Emily Shrestha, High School
Ann Spurrier, High School
Nancy Wemer, Onaway
Jessica Wilkes, High School
Linda Williams, Administration
Rocky Williams, Mercer

2018 Retirees
Eileen Blattner, High School
Katherine Brewster, Woodbury
Joan Gayle, High School
James Henry, Lomond
Cindy Johnson, Middle School
Valerie Libman, Woodbury
Marlene Lucci, Lomond
Mary Lynne McGovern, High School
Gene Tournoux, High School
Dale Whittington, Administration

Newly Tenured
Cinnamon Anderson, High School
Laura Boris, Middle School
Kady Cole, High School
Stacey DeYoung, Woodbury
Vanessa Exum, Lomond
John Filippakis, Lomond
Amy Fogerty, High School
Rachael Folkman, Lomond
Brittany Gehring, Boulevard
Denise Goble, Mercer
Shifa Isaacs, Lomond
Kara James, Fernway
Jane Jowers, Mercer
Lauren Keener, High School
Benjamin Lehman, Boulevard
Lynn Marencik, Lomond
Elizabeth Mazzie, High School
Edwin Mugridge, High School
Nora Jean Murphy, High School
Sagar Patel, High School
David Peake, High School
John Philbin, Boulevard
Jeffrey Rice, High School
Alexandria Royal, Lomond
Jacqueline Scanlon, Woodbury
Rebecca Sharpe, Middle School
Megan Slusar, Mercer
Nicole Smith, Onaway
Stacy Stoller, Boulevard
Karen Tritt, Mercer
Jennifer Wiescinski, Fernway
Greg Zannelli, High School

Print This Article
© 2019. Shaker Heights Schools. All Rights Reserved.
If any of the material on this page is not accessible to you or you have questions, please send us an email or call us via our contact page and we will provide alternatives.
View text-based website