Download the Shaker Schools App

Staying connected with Shaker Schools when you’re on-the-go just got easier. Our app is available as a free download on your mobile device or tablet.
Read More

Nine Shaker Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

September 12, 2017—Nine members of the Shaker Heights High School Class of 2018 have been named Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

This year's National Merit Semifinalists from Shaker are Gautam Apte, Daniel B.Crouse, Sarah Grube, Seamus Scanlon, Gabriel Sekeres, Sophia Solganik, Madeleine Suna, Jocelyn Ting, and Anna Walker.

These students will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarship awards that will be offered next spring, and will be candidates for other scholarships as well.

Nationwide, 16,000 National Merit Semifinalists have been designated from approximately 1.6 million program entrants in more than 22,000 high schools. Representing less than 1 percent of each state's high school seniors, Semifinalists are in the state's highest-scoring students on the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

These scholastically talented seniors are considered top candidates for admission to the most selective colleges. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation will announce the names of the National Merit Commended Students later this month. National Merit Scholarship winners of 2018 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in March 2018 and concluding mid-June 2018. 

Print This Article
© 2017. Shaker Heights Schools. All Rights Reserved.
If any of the material on this page is not accessible to you or you have questions, please send us an email or call us via our contact page and we will provide alternatives.
View text-based website